Are you a new driver looking to get your driver’s license in Seattle? Local Seattle driving schools can be your best resource for meeting the requirements and passing your driver’s tests. Follow these steps to get your Washington driver’s license.
Basic Driver’s License Requirements
There are basic requirements that you must meet to get your license in Washington. The minimum age to have a driver’s license issued is 16 years old. You must also be able to show proof that you are a Washington resident.
You must get a permit, complete a driving course, practice driving, and pass your driver’s tests before getting a license.
Get Your Instruction Permit
To practice the driving skills needed to pass the driving test, you will need a permit. You must be at least 15 1/2 years old to be issued a permit.
There are two different ways to get your permit. The first way is to learn the information covered on the knowledge test and pass the test on your own.
The second way is to take a driver training course. A knowledge test will be given after the information for the knowledge test has been taught. You are required to take a Traffic Safety Education course if you are under 18.
Complete a Driver Training Program
One of the best ways to help you have the knowledge and skills needed to pass the two tests is to complete a driver training program. All driver training programs licensed by the state include:
- 30 total hours of classroom instruction with no more than 2 hours per day
- 6 hours, minimum, of practice driving with one hour per day maximum
- 1 hour, minimum, of behind-the-wheel observation
Out-of-state courses are not acceptable. Make sure the driver training program you choose is approved and accepted by the state.
In addition to the driving hours required by driver training programs, teen drivers must have supervised driving practice hours. Teens need a total of 50 hours completed out-of-class. Of the 50 hours, 10 hours should be nighttime hours.
Read Also: Can I Order Produce in My Grocery Delivery?
Driving practice will help drivers gain the skills needed to pass the driving test.
Washington Driving Tests
In Washington, there are two tests you take to obtain your driver’s license. You must pass both tests if you have:
- No driver’s license
- A Washington learner’s permit
- An expired license from out of state
- A condition that requires testing
The two tests are the knowledge test and the driving test.
The knowledge test is a multiple-choice test given at the Department of Licensing office or your driver training school. You will need to pay a fee to take the exam. The exact cost varies depending on where you take the test. The information tested comes from the Washington State driver guide. It is a good idea to take a practice test before attempting the official test.
After you have successfully passed the knowledge test, you will be able to take the driving test. You will need to pay a fee to take the driving test. This test can be taken at your driver training school or a Department of Licensing office.
If you take the driving test at a licensing office, you will need proof of auto liability insurance. You will also need a vehicle in good running condition.
The test is made up of skills that you need to be able to perform to drive safely. You must score 80 out of 100 points to pass the driving test. After you have taken the test, your examiner will discuss your results with you.
Once you have passed both tests, you can make an appointment at the driver’s licensing office. The licensing office will have access to your test results. You will need to pay an application fee and an issuance fee for your license.
Seattle Driving Schools Near Me
Driving schools in Washington must be licensed by the state. They can teach you the information and the skills needed to pass both driving tests. Get your driver’s license by attending a training program at a Seattle driving school near you.